Worldloppet International

What is Worldloppet?

Worldloppet - The World of Marathon Skiing

The federation was founded in June 10th 1978 in Uppsala, Sweden.

Worldloppet Ski Federation :

Worldloppet is an international sports federation of cross-country skiing marathons.
The federation was founded in 1978 in Uppsala, Sweden.
The aim of Worldloppet is to promote the sport of cross-country skiing through the various ski races around the world. 

Worldloppet members:

Only one and the best race from a country can be a member of Worldloppet.
Worldloppet currently unites 20 races from Europe, America, Asia and Oceania.
16 Full Members and 4 Associate Members


Jizerská Padesátka (CZE), Dolomitenlauf (AUT), Marcialonga (ITA), König Ludwig Lauf (GER), Tartu Maraton (EST), La Transjurassienne (FRA), Finlandia-hiihto (FIN), Vasaloppet (SWE), Engadin Skimarathon (SUI), Birkebeinerrennet (NOR), Bieg Piastow (POL), Demino Ski Marathon (RUS), Fossavatn Ski Marathon (ISL)


American Birkebeiner (USA), Gatineau Loppet (CAN), Ushuaia Loppet  (ARG)


Sapporo International Ski Marathon (JPN), Vasaloppet China (CHI)

Australia &

 Kangaroo Hoppet (AUS),  Merino Muster Race (NZE)

Worldloppet strategy:

  • High quality ski races around the World. Only one and the best race from a country can be a member of Worldloppet.
  • Regularity and continuity. Each race, having its own history, traditions and programme, is held usually at the same time every year. 
    After completing 10 different Worldloppet races, at least one of them overseas, a skier can apply for the Worldloppet Master title.
  • Races for everybody. Races different by length, technique, landscape and target group attract 100 000 participants every year.
  • Partecipation of elite skiers. FIS Worldloppet Cup, consisting of Worldloppet races, is a Worldloppet serie for top skiers.

Worldloppet administration:

The highest authority of the Worldloppet Ski Federation is the Annual General Meeting.
The highest representative body of the Worldloppet Ski Federation is President, who is elected for the term of four years. The management of the organization is delegated to the Worldloppet CEO.
Worldloppet Executive Board, consisting of one representative of Scandinavia, Central Europe, East Europe and Overseas (Asia, North America and Australia), is established as support for the Worldloppet President and CEO.


Worldloppet President (elected in 2016):
Mr. Juha Viljamaa  Finlandia-hiihto 

Worldloppet Executive Board:

Mr. Martin Koucky

Jizerska Padesatka

Mrs. Eva-Lena Frick


Mrs. Annette Lamy Chappuis

La Transjurassienne

Mr. Dennis Kruse

American Birkebeiner



Ryhmä suomalaisia Mastereita keväällä 2013 Rybinskissä Venäjän ensimmäisissä WL-hiihdoissa 16.-17.3.2013